About the MuseumThe Gunn Historical Museum presents an ever-changing view of local history in one of the most beautiful locations in Connecticut. Come step into the world that was and see it through the eyes, images, artifacts, and stories of the many people great and ordinary who have made and make our town and museum a memorable place.
Some highlights of the collection include:
- Our photography collection gives a detailed and fascinating glimpse into this former farming community and country retreat for New York society.
- Our superb textile and wardrobe collection, spanning the 18th to the 20th centuries, reveals the glamorous and practical sides of women's lives.
- Our extensive collection of 18th and 19th century tools and domestic implements reflects the working lives of men and women.
- Unique and curious rarities from a long-horn chair once owned by P.T. Barnum, to a commemorative wreath made of human hair.
- Decorative and fine arts spanning 200 years, on display in our late 18th century house, please the eye and capture the imagination.
The story of the Museum's collection dates from 1899 when the local chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR) took space in a house on the town's green for a historical room which was furnished in colonial style.
When the Gunn Library was built in 1908, a basement room was reserved for this collection, to which Mrs. Orville Platt, our first curator, soon added her late husband the Senator's collection of Indian artifacts.
Our doll houses are a popular attraction.
In 1964 Mrs. June Willis donated her circa 1781 house to the Library. In order to free space for a Children's Room, the Trustees determined that all historical collections should be transferred to the Willis House.
We host around three thematic exhibits each year in our galleries, including an always popular Holiday exhibit, and sponsor many other programs and events throughout the year.
The Museum also has genealogical and other town history resources and materials available for on-site research or queries.
No admission charge; donations welcome. Find out how to get here.
Telephone: 860-868-7756 or email: email@example.com
Gunn Historical Museum
5 Wykeham Road
P.O. Box 1273
Washington, CT 06793
Thursday - Saturday 10:00 a.m.to 4:00 p.m.
Sunday 12:00 to 4:00 p.m.
Other times by appointment.
Home | What's Up | Index | About Us | Catalog & Links | Kids | Blogs | Museum | Contact Us