Past Exhibits & EventsThe Gunn Historical Museum presents an ever-changing view of local history. Here is just a partial listing of recent and past exhibitions and events:
The Photography of Nell Dorr | Washington and the Great War | Washington's Swedish Immigrants | The Civil War | Early American Stoneware |
Preview of Permanent Washington History Exhibit | Early Connecticut Gravestones | Wicked Litchfield County | Sister Susie WWI Centennial Event | Tea for Two Hundred | The Boudinot Family | The Gunnery and Feminism | The Mural | History Roundtables | The Bridges of Steep Rock | Swept Away: Flood of '55 | Lost Depot | Turkish Kilim Lecture, 2015 | Cemetery Tour - "Arts" Theme | Flood of '55 Anniversary | Gunn Museum at Civil War Encampment | Sports in 19th Century Boarding Schools | Harriet Beecher Stowe & The Gunnery | Ann Y. Smith & Ehrick Rossiter | Dollhouses & Miniatures | History of the Shepaug Railroad | From the Archives | Putnam's Revolutionary War Encampment | Rochambeau in Connecticut | Sound Rising | Magical Christmas Horse Holiday Show | Mallory Murders | Washington Winter Wonderland | Lake Waramaug | Jerome Titus' Civil War Diary | Cemetery Tour | Christmas Through the Ages | Victorian Tea Party | Paranormal Lecture | Washington Club | Scrapbook Exhibit & Programs | Washington's Emergency Services | GML Centennial | Wedding Dresses | Cogswell Papers | Abner Mitchell | Washington Art Association |
"Turkish Delight" The Annual Roxbury Historical Society, Minor Library, and Gunn Historical MuseumA sumptuous Mediterranean lunch and lecture on the history of Turkish rugs and the meaning behind their symbols and patterns was held in Washington this year.
Turkish Rug Sale Fundraiser November 5, 2016
The Gunn Historical Museum, the Roxbury Museum & Hodge Memorial Library, and the Minor Memorial Library held their annual collaborative Turkish-Rug-Sale Fundraiser. Held last year at the Minor Memorial Library in Roxbury, this popular event was moved to the Parish Hall of the First Congregational Church on the Washington Green. Hundreds of rugs and kilims of all sizes were offered for sale by Hamza Yildiz of Istanbul, Turkey. A percentage of the sale benefits the three organizations. A $10.00 donation was required from 12:00 - 2:00 p.m. as a Mediterranean lunch and lecture about the history, artists, techniques, dyes, motifs, and types of Turkish rugs and flat weave kilims was offered. After 2:00 p.m. entrance was free.
Yildiz is originally from the town of Nigde, in the Cappadocia region of central Turkey. His family was semi-nomadic and he grew up as a shepherd, while his mother and sister wove rugs. Hamza came to Istanbul when he was twelve years old and started working in a carpet repair shop. After training for several years as an assistant, he became a salesman in Noah's Ark Carpets and eventually became a partner in the store. Several times a year, Hamza travels around Turkey purchasing carpets directly from the weavers. He makes it a point to share with them how much their workmanship is appreciated by many around the world and encourages them to keep their art alive and continue to pass it down from mother to daughter. He said, "I believe handmade carpets with their incomparable colors and designs fill people's homes with positive energy and give joy to the people who use them." To learn more about Hamza Yildiz view his website: www.seeingisdreaming.com.
9th Annual Washington Green Cemetery Tour October 28, 2016
The theme of this year's tour, with all new characters, was "Uncommon Tales from Common Folk." Groups of visitors met at the Museum and were led by Tour Guides dressed in vintage attire along a path of luminaries through the Cemetery to meet some of Washington's unforgettable residents from the past. Unique, memorable and familiar citizens from the last century were brought to life by costumed actors who told stories of their life; some amusing, some sad, some tragic even horrific!
Cemetery Tour attendees lined up to get numbered tickets for the tours, handed out on a first-come first-serve basis, starting at 6:15 p.m. and continuing through the evening until the tickets ran out. Tours last approximately one hour and departed from the Gunn Museum in groups of fifteen people every eight minutes.
A Halloween-themed movie was shown in the Wykeham Room of the Gunn Library where attendees could wait inside for their tour group to depart. Visitors were urged to bring a flashlight, dress warmly, wear comfortable walking shoes, and to carpool due to limited parking.
"Washington Speaks" A Preview of The Permanent History of Washington Exhibit October 21, 22, 23, 28, 29 & 30, 2016The new permanent history of Washington exhibit, currently under construction at the Gunn Historical Museum, will tell the history of Washington through the very personal stories of the individuals who, over the centuries, have given the town its personality, features and character. While the exhibit is still several months away from opening, we invited the public to visit and have a small taste of what is to come.
Where Art and History Meet: Looking at Connecticut Gravestones October 25, 2016
Well-known Connecticut historian and author William Hosley gave a talk about how Connecticut's natural wealth of rocks, minerals and clays led to gravestones becoming Connecticut's earliest domestic art and export industry. This program explored and illustrated the diverse stylistic traditions in dozens of small shops that produced gravestones from the mid-17th century to the advent of the industrial age. Mr. Hosley also discussed prospects and possibilities in conservation. The program was held in the Wykeham Room of the Gunn Memorial Library. Free admission.
Wicked Litchfield County October 18, 2016Local history teacher and author Peter Vermilyea presented a program of devilish tales based on his recently-released book, "Wicked Litchfield County" in the Wykeham Room of the Gunn Memorial Library. These included Barnett Davenport, the nation's first mass murderer; the vast counterfeiting empire of Owen Sullivan and William Stuart, and stories of other thieves, rumrunners and rapscallions from Litchfield County's seedier past. Free admission.
The Centennial Celebration of the Sister Susies Allied Market on Washington Green August 28, 2016
Three months after The Great War (WWI) began in Europe, a group of women living around the town green in Washington, Connecticut decided to change the focus of their reading and sewing circle to an active society working to support the allied countries in Europe who were involved in this conflict. They called themselves the Sister Susies using a popular war song, "Sister Susie Sewing Shirts for Soldiers" as the inspiration for the name of their new organization.
At first the women received contributions of money and clothing from Washington residents but in the spring of 1915, they broadened their plans for fund-raising. They held card parties, encouraged the Town's churches to take up special collections and installed donation boxes at local business sites. These efforts enabled the Society to buy necessary supplies and to send money to various war relief organizations such as the American Red Cross, American Girl's Aid, the Polish Relief Fund and the Belgian Relief Fund. In the spring of 1916, they even undertook the support of a Belgian war orphan named Daniel Bataille.
As the war continued, the Sister Susies expanded their membership to include the entire town of Washington. Local citizens were enthusiastic and supportive and subsequent events raised additional funds. One significant bazaar called the "Allied Market" was held on the Town Green in August of 1916. It featured Sister Susie volunteers dressed in ethnic costumes of the allied nations in Europe at "farm-stands" where they sold produce, wares and trinkets native to those countries. Games, contests, food and musical entertainment were also offered to the large number of attendees.
On Sunday, August 28 from 11:00 am to 3:00 pm, the Gunn Historical Museum celebrated the 100th anniversary of the "Allied Market" and, through the generous support of the Connecticut Community Foundation, recreated this historic community event held a century ago on the Washington Green.
Four farm stands representing the countries of Italy, France, Belgium and Britain sold local fresh vegetables and fruit from Averill, Waldingfield, Kimberly, and Ox Hollow Farms with other vendors offering an additional assortment of specialty items. These included: oils & balsamic vinegars from The Olive Oil Factory; jams, chutneys, pickles & sauces by New Preston Provisions; delicious Unsurpassed Chocolate Sauces, Goshen Grains home-made granolas; natural yarns and textiles from Siren's Song Yarns & Fibers; handcrafted jewelry from MB Designs; home-made, scented soaps & lotions by The Raven & The Rose; Everything Botanical's garden plants & designs, the ceramic artistry of Bell Hill Pottery and vintage clothing & accessories from Lovely Louise.
The day's entertainment schedule included:
An old-fashioned picnic-type lunch with ice-cream and lemonade was available for purchase throughout the afternoon.
- 11:30 a.m. Rick Spencer's musical program,"To End all Wars: Songs of the First World War"
- 1:00 p.m. Pie-eating contests for children, teens and adults
- 1:30 p.m. Special Tug-of-War with teams from Washington town groups and businesses
- 2:00 p.m. Three-legged races
- 2:15 p.m. Drawing of wonderful vendor gift baskets
- 2:30 p.m. Water balloon toss that helped to cool off and end the day
All were welcome to attend and experience this historical event; there was no entrance fee; and everyone was encouraged to dress in period costume!
Tea for Two Hundred August 13, 2016
Gunn Historical Museum participated in and was a beneficiary of this popular fundraiser on Saturday, August 13th, 2026. Enormous thanks to all who attended, and to the folks and businesses who donated fabulous items to the silent auction. Christine Ohlman and Rebel Montez put on a killer show and the whole event was hot, hot, hot! (And we mean hot!) Check out some pictures on our T4200 Facebook page!
History Bites: "The Boudinot Family: The Transition from Politicians to Soldiers" May 19, 2016
Colin Riley, a 2015-2016 Gunn Scholar at The Gunnery, gave this PowerPoint presentation in the Wykeham Room of the Gunn Library as part of the History Bites lecture series. The Gunnery was founded by the prominent Washington abolitionist, Frederick Gunn, who welcomed his wife's cousins from the Cherokee Nation into his school and the community. Many people in Litchfield County know the story of the Cherokee Leader, Elias Boudinot, who came from Georgia to be educated at the Foreign Mission School in Cornwall, Connecticut. Not nearly as many people know that after Boudinot's assassination in Oklahoma in 1839, his second wife brought his six children back to Connecticut to be raised and educated by the Brinsmade Family in Washington. Several of those children went on to attend The Gunnery.
History Bites is an annual ten-week lunchtime lecture series, from April through June, on topics of local history at different heritage sites throughout Northwestern Connecticut. All lectures, which are free to the public, will be held at noon on Thursdays. Attendees are invited to bring lunch. Beverage and dessert will be provided by the hosting organization. The theme for this year's lecture series is Behind the Scenes: Hidden Stories. Each presenter will look into hidden stories and lesser known facts pertaining to each of the organizations and/or their collections. The 2016 History Bites series is sponsored in part by the Connecticut Community Foundation.
The Gunnery and Feminism May 24, 2016Evan Johnson, a 2015-2016 Gunn Scholar at The Gunnery, presented his original research on the meaning and implications of gender differentiation in boarding schools and The Gunnery's travels through the three stages of the growth of feminism in the United States in the Wykeham Room of the Gunn Library. Evan has performed groundbreaking work in the Gunn Scholar program by researching a part of The Gunnery's history where the participants are still living, the eras of coordination with Wykeham Rise, and the transition to coeducation in 1977. He has consulted alumni, teachers, and administrators of that era and researched in the archives of Taft and Andover as well as those at The Gunnery.
Pop-Up Exhibit: "The Mural"On Thursday April 28, 2016 the Gunn Historical Museum opened "The Mural" a special pop-up exhibit in the former Grape In The Shade building, at 3 Bryan Hall Plaza in Washington Depot. Curated by Dimitri Rimsky, the exhibit told the story of the making of Feodor Rimsky's 1958 mural painted on the wall of the Litchfield Bancorp office, depicting the arrival of the first Shepaug Railroad train into Washington Depot. The never before seen drafts, sketches, studies and notes used by Rimsky were on special display. Admission was free and the exhibit was open to the public April 28-30 and May 6 & 7.
April 28-30 and May 6-7, 2016
The Gunn Historical Museum would like to thank George Verrastro for so generously letting us use the building for this exhibit.
History Roundtables May 9 & May 12, 2016The Museum hosted two community roundtables to gather the townspeople's ideas for our upcoming permanent History of Washington exhibit that is being funded by a $100,000 grant. This is your exhibit and we wanted to hear what people felt are the important topics and stories to include in this permanent display. We alsosolicited artifacts that folks might have for us to include in this exhibit. Everyone was invited to participate in these community conversations.
Pop-up Exhibit: "The Bridges of Steep Rock" April 2016The Gunn Historical Museum and Steep Rock Association partnered to creating a pop-up exhibit called, "The Bridges of Steep Rock". This mini-exhibit included black and white photos from the Gunn Museum collection that depict, among other things, the early bridges that spanned the Shepaug River at the end of the 19th century.
Left: Valley Station and bridge to the Holiday House in Washington
Pop-up Exhibit: "Swept Away: The Resilience of a Small Connecticut Town"This Gunn Historical Museum pop-up exhibit is on display in the lobby of the Bryan Memorial Town Hall in Washington Depot. The exhibit is comprised of 7 panels of photos and written descriptions that together illustrate the causes, the destruction, the rescues and the dramatic aftermath of The Flood of 1955. The panels were originally used in a Museum exhibit mounted in 1995 that marked the 40th anniversary of that dark day.
February & March, 2016
Pop-up Exhibit: "The Lost Depot"A Gunn Historical Museum pop-up exhibit at Marty’s Café of over 25 photographs of significant Washington Depot homes and businesses that disappeared after the flood of 1955.
January 1 - 31, 2016
Turkish Kilim Fundraiser Lunch, Lecture and SaleThe Gunn Historical Museum of Washington, The Roxbury Museum, and the Hodge Memorial Library of Roxbury hosted a collaborative fundraiser, featuring Hamza Yildiz of Istanbul, who discussed the history, artists, techniques, dyes, motifs, and types of Turkish rugs and flatweave kilims. Mr. Yildiz also had hundreds of rugs and kilims for sale, of which a percentage benefited the three organizations.
November 22, 2015
The event took place at the Minor Memorial Library in Roxbury, and included a rug preview, delicious luncheon of Turkish and Mediterranean food, and a lecture.
After lunch, Mr. Yildiz discussed the processes and history of kilim weaving. Hamza grew up in Central Turkey, in Cappadocia in a semi-nomadic family where his grandmother, mother, and sister wove rugs. He moved to Istanbul when he was 12 years old, selling bagels on the street for a year until he got a job in a rug repair shop. When he was 13 he started working at Noah's Ark Rug Shop, learning everything he could from the owner and important collectors, until the age of 20 when he served in the army. After his stint in the army, he returned to Istanbul and became a partner at Noah's Ark. Hamza spends his summers in Turkey where he travels throughout the country to find unique rugs and kilims from tribal people. He spends the rest of his time in New Haven, CT with his nine year-old daughter and his wife, who is working on her Ph.D. in archaeology at Yale.
Private rug consultations were also arranged by appointment and for a small fee.
8th Annual Washington Green Cemetery Tour - "Arts" Theme October 30, 2015This year we celebrated the artistic people who have called Washington home over the centuries. Costumed tour guides led groups of visitors from the Gunn Museum to the Washington Green Cemetery where the town's departed citizens were stationed at their graves to tell their tales of tragedy and triumph. Tour groups followed a magical path of 1,000 luminarias spanning a quarter-mile through the shadowy cemetery and heard the lively and dramatic stories of Washington's artistic residents. This year the costumed character actors stationed at gravestones represented Washington’s most illustrious artists, actors, musicians, and authors, and shared their perilous tales of unrequited love, extravagant lives lived, travels around the world, escape from the Soviets and Nazis, early demise, and much more.
New this year, the last stop on the cemetery tour was St. John’s Episcopal Church transformed into a very scary haunted place with spooky organ music and ghostly stories. Afterwards everyone was invited to a BOO Feast at the Church with frightening food, punch from a bubbly cauldron, ghoulish cakes and treats!
Attendees met at the Gunn Historical Museum and formed a line to et numbered tickets for the tours, on a first-come first-serve basis, starting at 6:15 p.m. and through the evening until the tickets ran out. Tours of the cemetery departed from the Gunn Museum in groups of fifteen people every eight minutes between 6:30-8:30 p.m. and lasted approximately 45 minutes. A Halloween themed movie was shown in the Wykeham Room of the Gunn Library where attendees waited inside for their tour group to depart. The exhibit, "Between Two Worlds: The Photography of Nell Dorr", was also be open for viewing in the Gunn Museum.
We would like to thank the numerous and talented volunteer tour guides, as well as those who helped set-up and clean-up! Students could also earn community service hours by volunteering for the Cemetery Tour.
The 60th Anniversary of the Flood of 1955 August 19, 2015The Gunn Museum hosted a very well attended commemoration of the 60th Anniversary of the Flood of 1955. Over 122 people observed a moment of silence in memory of the victims of the disastrous flood. This was followed by the showing of a 10-minute black and white 1955 film by WNBC newscaster John McCaffery that included scenes of the destruction in The Depot and interviews with survivors.
The highlight of the evening, however, was when participants shared their dramatic personal stories of that fateful day when the Shepaug River changed Washington Depot forever. Special thanks to Gunn Museum Curator Stephen Bartkus for putting this special event together with the help of Museum volunteer Robin McHan. Museum Council member Nick Solley assisted with the discussions and Museum volunteer Michael Bird videotaped the program. A Museum video of this Flood of '55 commemoration gathering will be made available to the public, with proceeds going to help complete the Museum's oral history collection. You can pre-order today by calling the museum at 860-868-7756.
The Gunn Goes to War! August 8, 2015Gunn Museum volunteer David Babington and Assistant Curator Marj Vitz brought the Gunn Museum's award-winning Civil War exhibit (in smaller traveling form) to the weekend Civil War encampment in Woodbury, CT. While the boys in blue led by the cigar-smoking General Grant and the boys in grey led by General Lee re-enacted a fierce Civil War battle in a Woodbury field, Marj and David, bravely held their ground and defended the Gunn's exhibit table, Civil War books, antiques maps and photos!
The Rise of Sports in 19th Century Boarding Schools May 28, 2015
Jessica Xu, the 2014-15 Gunn Scholar at The Gunnery, gave a powerpoint presentation in the Wykeham Room of the Gunn Library as part of the History Bites lecture series. The oldest school in Connecticut operating continuously under the same name, The Gunnery is a leader not only in academics, but also in its commitment to athletic training and sports. Mr. Gunn, the founder of the school, was an early pioneer in the support of athletics in schools, and believed in its power to instill morality and build character. Ms. Xu looked into the rise of athletics in boarding schools and the role Mr. Gunn played in it.
Baseball on the Washington Green 1869
"History Bites" is an annual ten-week lunchtime lecture series, from April through June, on topics of local history at different heritage sites throughout Northwestern Connecticut. All lectures, which are free to the public, are held at noon on Thursdays. Attendees are invited to bring lunch. Beverages and dessert are provided by the hosting organization. The theme for this year's lecture series was "A Closer Look." Each presenter provides a deeper understanding of some aspect of an organization's purpose, some items in an archive or collection, some upcoming exhibit, or some insight into a person worthy of our attention. The 2015 History Bites series was sponsored by the Connecticut Community Foundation.
Women at Work: Harriet Beecher Stowe's Connection to The Gunnery May 15, 2014
Olivia Judd, the 2013-14 Gunn Scholar at The Gunnery, gave a powerpoint presentation in the Wykeham Room as part of the "History Bites" Lecture Series.
The oldest school in town is The Gunnery, which was not only founded as an excellent independent school, but also a platform for antislavery activism. Harriet Beecher Stowe and Henry Ward Beecher, both nationally known abolitionists, sent their children to The Gunnery in the 1850s and 1860s. Ms. Judd will look into the relationship of the Stowe, Beecher and Gunn families, and the impact they made on The Gunnery, Washington and the nation as a whole.
"History Bites" is an annual ten-week lunchtime lecture series about topics of local history at different heritage sites throughout Northwestern Connecticut. All lectures, which are free to the public, will be held at noon on Thursdays. Attendees are invited to bring their own lunch, and beverages and dessert will be provided by the hosting organization. Reservations are requested but not required. The theme for this year's series is "The Way We Worked" and will explore the past, present and future of work in the lives of Connecticut residents. The History Bites lecture series is part of Connecticut at Work, a year-long conversation on the past, present and future of work life in Connecticut created by Connecticut Humanities. Various types of work will be discussed in the programs and will include topics pertaining to industry, agriculture, tourism, and the antiques trade. The 2014 History Bites series is sponsored by the Connecticut Humanities Council and the Connecticut Community Foundation.
Click here to view the full listing of 2014 History Bites lectures.
Book Talk & Signing with Ann Y. Smith, Author of Ehrick K. Rossiter; Designs for Modern Living 1880-1930 May 11, 2013
Ann Y. Smith, author, lecturer and former museum curator gave a book talk and powerpoint presentation on her recently published work, Ehrick K. Rossiter Designs for Modern Living 1880-1930.
Ehrick Rossiter practiced architecture in New York City from 1877 until 1921, working first with partner Frank A. Wright and later with John Muller. He designed residential, institutional and public buildings in New England, New York, New Jersey and Maryland, many of which are now designated as historic properties. Among Rossiter's architectural designs are 25 estate homes, referred to as "summer cottages", and artist's studios in Washington, Connecticut, most in the Queen Anne ("shingle style") and colonial revival styles. Rossiter was a member of the American Institute of Architects and the Architectural League of New York. He retired in 1921 and subsequently made his home in Washington, Connecticut.
"This book is a window into the building of our nation during its most expansive era. The styles, the client networks, the construction costs and the social mandates that influenced the layout of the interiors, form the back story of this account of the architect, his buildings and his clients.Ann Y. Smith was a museum curator in Connecticut for 30 years and an adjunct lecturer on American Architectural History at the University of Connecticut. A popular public speaker, she has published widely on the cultural history of northwest Connecticut.
Nearly 200 illustrations document this comprehensive story, including dozens of glass plate images of the buildings when they were new and floorplans published in contemporary periodicals. The 50 color images, including many taken from a rare original copy of Rossiter's 1883 book, capture Rossiter's paint schemes, offering an authentic guide to today's owners of period homes."
Ann Y. Smith
1747 George II Baby House
from the collection of Allerton Cushman III
It's a Small, Small World: Dollhouses and Miniatures November 2012 through February 2013
Held over by popular demand, our precious holiday exhibition enthralled visitors with a fantasy world of miniature houses, furnishings, toys, and dolls. Under the guidance of artistic director Chris Zaima, designer Sandy Booth and John Pitts, the former scenic artist at The Metropolitan Opera in New York City, this whimsical exhibit captured the holiday spirit for children of all ages and broke all attendance records at the museum.
The enchanting display featured over fifty unique handcrafted dollhouses and room boxes, spanning three centuries, from the Gunn Museum, Washington residents and private collectors across the Northeast. A number of dollhouse treasures, discovered in local attics, basements and barns, saw the light of day for the first time in decades in this exhibit. The oldest item on display was a very rare George II English Baby House built in 1747. Some other notable artifacts in the exhibit were 1890s Moritz Gottschalk dollhouses, elaborate 19th century German "room boxes", a 1920s Tynietoy dollhouse with original Tynietoy furnishings, an early 20th century British Tri-ang dollhouse, a Mt. Vernon dollhouse built in 1932 for the bicentennial of George Washington's birth, Louis Marx tin houses, among many others. Also included in this exhibit was the work of local dollhouse craftsmen and miniature artisans Rick Maccione of Dollhouse Mansions, Susan Anthony Klein and Teresa Layman of of Teresa Layman Designs.
5th Annual Washington Green Cemetery Tour October 26, 2012The 5th Annual Washington Green Cemetery Tour had a special Gunnery theme. Costumed guides led groups of visitors from the Gunn Museum to the Washington Green Cemetery where the town's departed citizens were stationed at their gravestones to tell their tales of tragedy and triumph. Tour groups followed a path of 1,000 luminaries spanning a quarter of a mile through the shadowy cemetery and heard the dramatic experiences of past students and faculty from the Gunnery. Features of this magical theatrical evening included tales of murder, town controversies, the Titanic disaster, Civil War soldiers, abolitionists and more.
Shepaug Railroad Crew - April 19, 1906 (Click to enlarge.)
History of the Shepaug Railroad April 17, 2012Bob Devine, the last living employee of the Shepaug Railroad, discussed his memories of working for the railroad that came through Washington Depot.
The Shepaug, Litchfield, and Northern Railroad was a short independent railroad that was chartered as the Shepaug Valley Railroad in 1868. It operated as the Litchfield Division of the New York, New Haven and Hartford Railroad until being abandoned in 1948. Much of the line, which stretched from Hawleyville to Litchfield, remains in place as rail trails to this day. Bob was the last to work on this line and will tell his story of working on this historic railroad as a young man.
Bob Devine, formerly of Washington, has resided in New Fairfield since 1951. Bob has led a fascinating life as a self-taught photographer, Korean War veteran, pilot, race car champion, and carpenter. Bob is a living piece of Americana and textbook of local history. This special discussion was attended by an overflow crowd!
From the Archives
On the first Monday of each month at 10:00 a.m., staff from the Gunn Museum present a topic from the Museum's archives at the Washington Senior Center. We share photos, artifacts, and stories and reminisce about Washington's history.
1886: Washington Green with Woodruff House, the Episcopal Rectory, the Chadwick's House (before restoration) and the Congregational meeting house.
April 2nd: During the nineteenth century Washington was home to many small industries, located on practically every brook and stream, producing a great variety of household implements. Washington Depot was then known as Factory Hollow due to the large number of factories located there. We read and dicussed "Old Time Industries in Washington" written in 1915 by Edith Heath Rossiter and learned about the industrial heritage of Washington during this special presentation.
March 5th: The reading was "A Sketch of Daniel N. Canfield and his Brother Lewis" written by Florence Canfield Kinney in 1913. Daniel and Lewis were longtime Washington fixtures. They were carpenters who built many buildings in town, farmers and abolitionists. Daniel started the Washington public library association, dramatic association, was active in the formation and administration of the Washington Cemetery, and was town clerk & town treasurer. Come learn about the Canfields and the history of Washington during this special presentation.
February 6th: "Memories of Washington." Two papers were presented: "Reminiscences of Life in Washington" written by Rev. Henry Calhoun in 1892 and "A Paper of Memories of, or Near Washington Green 1872-1875" written by Clarence Nettleton.
March 10: Putnam's Revolutionary War EncampmentAuthor Daniel Cruson presented a slide lecture and book signing of his new book, Putnam's Revolutionary War Winter Encampment: The History and Archaeology of Putnam Memorial State Park.
During the winter of 1778-79 General Israel Putnam led 3,000 troops of the Continental Army into three separate valleys of northern Redding, Connecticut where they built temporary huts for protection against the winter cold and lived for six months before marching out to engage the British the next fighting season. Mr. Cruson's book tells the story of that winter sojourn in the wilds of western Connecticut and the dramatic effect that this fourfold increase in population had on Redding.
For the past 12 years Mr. Cruson has been engaged in archaeological excavations in the eastern most of these three encampments and has discovered startling new information having application to not only the winter camp in Redding, but also that at Valley Forge, which was the year before, and at Morristown, the year after. Putnam's camp in Redding represents a true transition as the Revolutionary Army continued to turn itself into a professional army proficient enough to finally defeat the British Army at Yorktown.
A retired high school teacher, Daniel Cruson has done extensive research and writing on the history of the towns of central Fairfield County as well as conducting several archaeological investigations. A prolific author, Mr. Cruson has published The Prehistory of Fairfield County; Newtown's Slaves: A Case Study in Early Connecticut Rural Black History; Newtown and Redding and Easton in the Images of America series, as well as Newtown: 1900-1960; A Mosaic of Newtown History; The Slaves of Central Fairfield County; a collection of essays; and the history of The Newtown Savings Bank. Mr. Cruson is active in a number of organizations dedicated to the research and preservation of local history including the Historical Society in Newtown, the Easton Historical Society, The Heritage Preservation Trust of Newtown, Society of American Archeology, and The Archaeological Society of Connecticut.
February 4: Rochambeau in Connecticut - Lecture and Book SigningIn commemoration of the 234th anniversary of one of the most important events in French-American History, the signing of the French-American Alliance on February 6, 1778 in Paris, Jini Jones Vail, the author of Rochambeau: Washington's Ideal Lieutenant - A French General's Role in the American Revolutiongave a lecture and book signing. The Treaty of Alliance with France was a defensive alliance between France and the United States of America, formed in the midst of the American Revolutionary War, which promised military support in case of attack by British forces indefinitely into the future. This signing made France America's first publicly avowed friend and ally, and only with their assistance did America achieve victory over the British and gain independence. This presentation recalled the remarkable history of this unprecedented alliance, improbable victory and the true story behind our nation's incredible birth.
Rochambeau arrived in the darkest hours of the revolution. Though he landed in Newport, RI with 5,500 troops, hard currency from King Louis XVI, and an impressive background in military training and experience, Jean Baptiste Donatien de Vimeur Comte de Rochambeau was received with skepticism by the American revolutionaries as he placed himself under the command of General George Washington. Rochambeau and his troops traversed the State of Connecticut on their way to join forces with George Washington in 1781, marching through the local towns of Waterbury, Middlebury, Southbury, Newtown and Danbury. It was difficult at the beginning, but within a year Generals Rochambeau and Washington forged a working relationship and overcame their differences in language, experience, background, and preferred military strategy.
In her clean and precise style, author Jini Jones Vail uses her copious research to bring to life the vivid details of the merging of their two armies at New York. In the end, it was General Rochambeau who inspired General Washington to agree to march their men the grueling 400 miles to Yorktown, Virginia where they would win an improbable victory against the formidable British forces and usher in the birth of the United States of America. Vail, a scholar in French language and history, is passionate about Americans understanding and appreciating the importance of the honest, loyal, patient and skilled Rochambeau in the success of the American Revolution. As a member of the advisory commission that promoted the establishment in 2009 of the Washington-Rochambeau Revolutionary Route, stretching from Newport, Rhode Island to Yorktown, Virginia, Jini Jones Vail sees her book as a contribution to the profound historic experience offered by this national historic trail.
Sound Rising Presentation & Book SigningTo commemorate the 200th Anniversary of the War of 1812, Richard Radune, author of Sound Rising: Long Island Sound at the Forefront of America's Struggle for Independence gave a powerpoint presentation and book signing.
The War of 1812 was a three-year military conflict fought between the United States of America and the British Empire which famously resulted in the capture and burning of Washington, D.C. by the British. The Battle of Fort McHenry in Baltimore, Maryland during the War of 1812 also inspired Francis Scott Key to write the poem that supplied the lyrics for The Star Spangled Banner.
Sound Rising challenges our perception of Long Island Sound in many surprising ways. The Sound was at the forefront of American trade with the West Indies and its location placed it in a position to influence the course of history during the critical years between 1750 and 1820. Its multitude of small ports, coves and navigable rivers provided a distinct advantage by thwarting British efforts to enforce trade restrictions and collect taxes. Merchants' desire for free trade and the avoidance of customs duties set the stage for war. Long Island Sound played a crucial role in America's Revolutionary War victory when its naval vessels, privateers and whaleboat raiders swarmed out of these same ports to interdict British supplies and force major changes in the enemy's strategic war plans. Long Island Sound became no man's land and an emotional vortex of "Whaleboat War" involving refugees from each side of the Sound. This groundbreaking, true story relates the Sound's involvement in the capture of Fort Louisbourg, rampant smuggling, the Revolutionary War, the Undeclared War with France and the War of 1812.
Richard Radune, a resident of Branford, Connecticut, is an author and independent historian. After graduating from Syracuse University in 1965 with a major in U. S. History, he served as an Air Force Captain in North Dakota and Alaska. Following a 30-year business career, Mr. Radune researched and wrote the award winning book, Pequot Plantation: The Story of an Early Colonial Settlement which was published in 2005. His second book, Sound Rising, was published in 2011.
The Magical Christmas Horse November 2011 to January 2012For this holiday show, Museum visitors were introduced to the new children's book of the same name by best-selling author Mary Higgins Clark and award-winning artist Wendell Minor. The setting of The Magical Christmas Horse is based on the historic 1746 Averill Farm in Washington, Connecticut and the Gunn Museum's toy horse is the inspiration behind this enchanting Christmas story.
This exhibition featured Wendell Minor's original works of art from The Magical Christmas Horse, along with whimsical displays of spectacular toy horses of all shapes and sizes from the collection of the Gunn Museum and area residents. Designer Chris Zaima with the collaboration of John Pitts, the former scenic artist at The Metropolitan Opera in New York City, captured the holiday spirit for this exhibit.
Mary Higgins Clark is the beloved and world-wide bestselling author of thirty suspense novels, three collections of short stories, a historical novel, and a memoir. In the U.S. alone, her books have sold over one hundred million copies. She is also the coauthor with her daughter, Carol Higgins Clark, of five holiday suspense novels.
Wendell Minor is the award-winning illustrator of more than fifty picture books, including the New York Times bestselling picture books Reaching for the Moon and Look to the Stars, written by astronaut Buzz Aldrin. Mr. Minor's work can be found in the permanent collections of such institutions as the Norman Rockwell Museum and the Library of Congress. He lives with his wife Florence, in Washington, Connecticut, where this story is set.
Following the success of their New York Times bestselling picture book, Ghost Ship, author Mary Higgins Clark teamed up once again with long-time friend and artist, Wendell Minor, who originally created the cover art for Clark's first classic, Where are the Children?
The setting of the book is based on Averill Farm here in Washington, Connecticut that has been passed down through nine generations. Wendell's captivating paintings create the backdrop for Clark's superior storytelling, making The Magical Christmas Horse a book that captures the true heart of the holidays, and one that families will make part of their Christmas tradition year after year. The Museum still has signed copies of the book available for sale.
Book Talk & Signing with Wendell Minor & Mary Higgins Clark December 10, 2011The Museum hosted a book signing and short reading with beloved best-selling author, Mary Higgins Clark and award-winning artist, Wendell Minor as they shared their latest collaborative work, The Magical Christmas Horse. After the book signing, visitors enjoyed the holiday exhibit featuring Mr. Minor's original works of art from this book, along with the Museum's toy horse that was the inspiration behind this wonderful Christmas story.
A History of the Washington Agricultural Fair
The Georgianna Middlebrook Room is dedicated to Washington history. Incorporated in 1779, Washington, Connecticut boasts a rich and diverse history. Through pictures, stories and artifacts, visitors are brought on a journey through Washington's unique history in this room, starting 10,000 years ago with the first inhabitants of the area, the Native Americans, to the modern day. Displays in this room rotate seasonally, highlighting different components of Washington's past. This 2011 display featured the history of Washington's Agricultural Fair along with a newly restored film of the Fair in 1950.
The Mallory Murders
On February 3rd, local author and historian Michael-John Cavallaro presented a lecture in the Wykeham Room of the Gunn Library describing the first mass murder in America, which took place in Washington, CT on the night of February 3, 1780. The Mallory Murders, as they came to be called, were so shocking that the news spread from Maine to Georgia in a matter of days.
The murderer, 19-year-old Barnett Davenport, was from the neighboring town of New Milford, and for the first time in history 231 years to the day of the actual shocking and tragic event the truth of the story was brought to light. Mr. Cavallaro spent three years researching this fascinating and disturbing tale, and related not only the story itself, but explained how his research came to fruition in a detective story that took him deep into history and military research. Davenport's tragic life and his fall into mental illness and social dysfunction are fully explored in his next book, scheduled for release in 2011. Mr. Cavallaro is also the author of the book, Tales of Old New Milford.
Washington Winter Wonderland November 2010 to January 2011Our holiday exhibit featured over one hundred and thirty vintage Steiff stuffed toy animals in whimsical displays throughout the Museum. Steiff is best known as the company that invented the Teddy bear. Local designers, Chris Zaima and Anne Chapin, decorated beautiful Christmas trees as well. John Pitts, former Scenic Artist at The Metropolitan Opera in New York City, painted a beautiful winter mural on the walls of the Museum. This enchanting exhibit ran from Thanksgiving 2010 through January 30, 2011. The exhibit was reviewed here.
Steiff Appraisal Day January 22, 2011
The public was invited to bring their Steiff bears and animals to the Museum to be evaluated by Sandy Booth and Shelley Smith, both long-time collectors whose toys were on display in the current exhibit. They answered questions and verbally appraised items for estimated age and value. This fun, informal event was free.
Dedication of the Georgianna Middlebrook Room November 28, 2010
We dedicated the main entrance gallery in the Museum in honor of Georgianna Middlebrook, a long-time Washington resident and supporter of the Gunn. The Georgianna Middlebrook Room will be dedicated to Washington history.
New Year's Tea Party at the Museum January 2, 2011
We rang in the New Year with an old-fashion Victorian tea party at the Museum. Visitors viewed our holiday exhibit and socialized with friends in a festive setting as they enjoyed tea and refreshments.
Life on Lake Waramaug: Past, Present, Future May through October 2010Through pictures, stories and artifacts this wonderful exhibit took visitors on a journey, starting 10,000 years ago with the first inhabitants of the Lake, the Native Americans and Chief Waramaug, to its rise as a 19th century summer resort showcasing the hay day of inns and summer fun on the Lake. This celebration was a collaboration of the Gunn Memorial Library and Museum, Lake Waramaug Association, Lake Waramaug Task Force, Institute for American Indian Studies and Washington Art Association. The exhibit and associated programs were made possible by the generous support of The Community Foundation of Northwest Connecticut in collaboration with the Connecticut Humanities Council.
The following programs enhanced this exhibit:
- May 27: Dr. Lucianne Lavin, Director of Research at the Institute for American Indian Studies, gave a Powerpoint presentation, "Native Americans at Lake Waramaug," in the Wykeham Room of the Gunn Library. Dr. Lavin discussed lifeways of the original inhabitants of the Lake, Chief Waramaug and his tribe, as well as findings from past and recent archaeological excavations around the Lake.
- June 12: Connecticut Open House Day. Stephen Bartkus, Gunn Museum Curator, gave a Powerpoint presentation, "Lake Waramaug: A 19th Century Summer Resort" in the Wykeham Room of the Gunn Library. Visitors were given a visual tour of the numerous inns, restaurants and cottages that have risen and fallen over the past 150 years on Connecticut's second largest natural lake.
- August 17: In collaboration with the Gunn Junior Library, we hosted a music and story program for children called "Waterbound by Tom Hanford's Musical Menagerie and Chimneyside Tales." Tom's show illuminated the history of America's lakes, rivers and canals through songs and stories of steamboat captains, roustabouts and canal hoggees of yesterday.
- October 23: Oral History Roundtable where friends and neighbors gathered at the library to reminisce about memories of Lake Waramaug. A reception followed in the Museum.
Jerome Titus: The Story of a Civil War Soldier from Washington (2010)
Michael Croft's 8th grade Social Studies classes at Shepaug Valley Middle School transcribed part of the 1864 diary of Jerome Titus, a musician in the Second Connecticut Heavy Artillery, from the collection of the Gunn Museum for their annual local history project in 2010. This award-winning local history project is an annual collaboration of the Gunn Memorial Museum, the Gunnery and Shepaug Valley Middle School. The students' work is being shared with the public in a book that they have published and through an exhibit that they have created at the Gunn Memorial Museum.
Annual Washington Green Cemetery TourThe Gunn Memorial Museum hosted tours of the Washington Green Cemetery on October 29, 2010; October 30, 2009; and October 30, 2008. Throughout the evening, costumed guides led visitors from the museum to the cemetery where the town's departed citizens, stationed by their gravestones, told their tales. Visitors could explore the shadowy cemetery and hear fascinating stories about some of Washington's most noteworthy citizens from years past, with many new characters added each year. Tours departed from the museum every ten minutes, following a path of luminarias to and through the cemetery.
Christmas Through the Ages November 2009 to January 2010
Visitors traveled back through time to Christmases past. Our holiday exhibit featureed vintage toys and memorabilia in festive Victorian era, 1920s and 1950s inspired settings. Designers Chris Zaima and Anne Chapin worked with the Gunn to transform the entire first floor of the museum into a Christmas wonderland. Spectacular dolls from past generations filled one entire gallery. Additional highlights of this fantastic exhibit included Christmas trees and stunning vintage dresses from each era. Children of all ages were delighted by this festive holiday exhibit!
Victorian Tea Party January 2, 2010The Gunn Museum hosted an old-fashion Victorian tea party. Visitors viewed our spectacular holiday exhibit, "Christmas through the Ages" and socialized with friends in a festive setting. Guests were asked to bring their favorite tea cup, and tea and refreshments were provided.
Paranormal LectureInsight Paranormal Agency conducted a paranormal investigation at both the 1908 Gunn Memorial Library, and the 1781 Museum. The ghost hunters revealed what they found roaming the halls of the Gunn during a lecture on October 29. Tony Diana, co-founder of Insight Paranormal Agency, explained the different types of ghosts, the equipment they use in their surveys, and showed evidence of haunted sites that they have investigated in Connecticut.
Insight is a paranormal investigation group comprised of volunteers who have a passion for the supernatural. They seek answers to questions about the other side, but with an ear towards reality. Steve Bednar, co-founder of Insight Paranormal Agency, explains what got him interested in the paranormal: "I have had personal experiences growing up that are unexplained and after learning ghost hunting techniques I set forward in search of a group as focused and determined as I was for answers and had a passion for the hunt."
Washington Club: A Century in the Community June through October 2009The Washington Club has been a fixture in town since 1903, hosting community theater performances in Club Hall, as well as offering a 9-hole golf course, tennis and Holt Beach on Lake Waramaug. We looked back at the history of the Washington Club with wonderful pictures and artifacts from the collections of club members and the Gunn Memorial Museum.
The Keepers of History: Scrapbooks and Albums April through October 2009
Visitors could explore life over the past two centuries through the prism of wonderful scrapbooks from local residents and our collection. Scrapbooks are a quintessential shared American art form, beautifully presented time capsules of bygone people, places and times. Pasted fragments of memory from past generations were on display in this wonderful visual history of Washington. The innovative exhibit provided an opportunity for guests to 'walk into' a book through the use of unique paint colors, large-scale reproductions of pages and vignettes that created a sense of time and place. Chris Zaima created a beautiful old-fashion mural of Washington on our walls as a backdrop for this exhibit. Period clothing and historic artifacts from our collection completed the experience.
Many of the scrapbooks featured in Jessica Helfand's new book, Scrapbooks: An American History, were on display in this exhibit. Fabulous, rarely seen scrapbooks from the collection of the Gunn Museum included:
the albums of Helen Wersebe, Marjorie Boyd and Anna DePeyster, from their days as students at the Wykeham Rise girl's school in Washington; the founder of Wykeham Rise, Miss Davies's, own scrapbook; the founder of the Mayflower, Harry Van Sinderen's Yale scrapbook; artist and former curator Alice Peck Snow's Smith College Scrapbook; Evelyn Holt Lowry's NY Opera and Theatre scrapbook; one of Washington's original summer residents and a publisher R.S. Barnes's scrapbook of Brooklyn dinner invitations and menus; the Barnes Family scrapbook of Washington Concerts and Plays 1887-1906; Wilhelmina Knowles's scrapbook of pressed Washington flowers and ferns; wonderful scrapbooks of chromolithographs from the Morehouse and Sackett Families; Estella West's scrapbook of The Judea Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution; Home study scrapbooks for domestic instruction for sewing, lace, thimbles, birds, paper dolls, scrapbook houses, paper cutting and folding from Clara Richmond, Emily Hunt and Esther Peck; the scrapbook of the Dramalites; The Washington Lions Club's scrapbook of the Washington Fair; The Washington Girl Scout's Scrapbook; Victorian Death Scrapbooks; and numerous Town History Scrapbooks chronicling every event in the town of Washington from 1900-1960, from WWI to WWII to the Flood. Modern digital scrapbooks of Kristin White, Emily Anderson, and others were also included to show the evolution of this hobby, from a parlor activity of the 19th century to the worldwide phenomenon that it has become today.
A grant from The Community Foundation of Northwest Connecticut, in collaboration with the Connecticut Humanities Council, made this exhibit and associated programs possible.
National Scrapbooking Day "Crop" WorkshopOn National Scrapbooking Day, Saturday, May 2nd, the Gunn Memorial Library and Museum held a workshop, open to both beginners and expert "croppers" of all ages. The day started with a scrapbooking demonstration for beginners and a digital scrapbooking demo in the afternoon. Our consultant, Kristen White of Creative Memories, offered creative tips and unique ideas, in addition to sharing her professional tools. She also displayed both digital and traditional scrapbooks that she has completed with interesting ideas on photo display.
There were raffles for cool scrapbooking supplies throughout the day. Each guest received a goodie bag with stickers, paper and helpful information. This workshop coincided with the Museum's exhibit, The Keepers of History: Scrapbooks and Albums.
Booksigning and Chat with Jessica HelfandOn Saturday June 13, 2009, during Connecticut Open House Day and Washington's Locally Grown History Day, a one-day statewide event designed to pay tribute to Connecticut's unique world of history, art, film and tourism, Jessica Helfand, the author of Scrapbooks: An American History, gave a book signing and chat exploring the history of this hobby. Jessica Helfand is a graphic designer, professor at Yale University and the author of several books on graphic design and cultural criticism. Many of the scrapbooks featured in Jessica's book are on display in the Gunn Museum's new exhibit, "The Keepers of History: Scrapbooks and Albums."
Scrapbook Preservation Workshop
On Tuesday September 15, we hosted a scrapbook preservation workshop. Deb Wender, a national expert from Northeast Document Conservation Center in Massachusetts, taught participants how to care for their old scrapbooks so that they'll survive for future generations.
Scrapbooks present some of the most complex conservation and reformatting challenges. Composed on varying materials, adhered with problematic glues and tapes to often acidic pages, scrapbooks frequently need to be reformatted in order to preserve the intellectual information contained within. The workshop was free and open to the public as well as library and museum professionals interested in preservation options for scrapbooks.
Participants were encouraged to bring a scrapbook from their collection for hands-on examination and discussion. Visitors also viewed the exhibition, "The Keepers of History: Scrapbooks and Albums," which included many scrapbooks featured in Jessica Helfand's new book, Scrapbooks: An American History, on display next door at the Gunn Museum. The exhibit and workshop were sponsored by The Community Foundation of Northwest Connecticut, in collaboration with the Connecticut Humanities Council.
The Gunn Memorial Library and Museum hosted a program titled "Digital Scrapbooking: An Introduction to Facebook" on Saturday October 3rd. While traditional scrapbooking remains a hit, the surge in popularity of social networking sites can be considered a virtual form of scrapbooking where individuals document their daily lives by posting pictures and comments for their friends to see. Emphasis was placed on the evolution of memory keeping from the "old" to the "new" and establishing virtual connections with friends and family. A local web specialist offered an introduction to the popular website. Participants had the opportunity to work with our specialist on one of the library's computers to create their own Facebook page. Participants were asked to register for this free program.
Washington's Community ScrapbookThe Gunn Memorial Library and Museum created a community scrapbook during the exhibition, The Keepers of History: Scrapbooks and Albums. Washington residents, businesses and organizations were encouraged to pick up a blank scrapbook page, fill it with their memories, photographs and objects and then return it to the museum by October 31, 2009. The completed book will become part of the Museum's permanent collection. The community scrapbook will give future generations a glimpse of what life was like in Washington in the year 2009.
Washington's Emergency Services: A History of the Fire Department & Ambulance Association November 28, 2008 to May 1, 2009Fire department and ambulance association volunteers have been serving Washington for decades. Riveting first-person accounts of Washington emergencies during the past century, from the Flood of 1955 to fires and automobile accidents were accompanied by vintage photographs and artifacts from the fire department and ambulance association, conveying stories of brotherhood, tragedy and triumph. The history of these volunteer safety organizations came alive in this tribute to Washington's finest.
The Centennial of the Gunn Memorial Library, 2008 - 2009The Gunn Memorial Library, designed by Ehrick K. Rossiter and constructed by Dallas Wyant in 1908, celebrated its 100th Anniversary in 2008. The exhibition highlighted the history of the construction of this venerable building and celebrated all of its wonderful features. The Renaissance Revival period architecture, memorial reliefs, sculptures, stained glass windows and ceiling mural by painter and Washington resident H. Siddons Mowbray all combine to make the Gunn Memorial Library one of Washington's architectural and cultural treasures.
The Fabric of Marriage: Wedding Dresses, 2008 - 2009An elaborate display of wedding gowns from the Gunn's vintage clothing collection focused on the history of weddings and wedding dresses, spanning the mid 19th and early 20th centuries, while tracing Washington's history through the people that wore them. One of the prized pieces displayed during the exhibition is the wedding dress made and worn by Abigail Brinsmade when she married Frederick Gunn on April 16, 1848. An extensive display of wedding photographs from Washington residents, spanning the last century, accompanied the wedding gowns throughout the museum.
Wedding Dress Preservation Workshop - July 26 & August 23, 2008In conjunction with the exhibition, "The Fabric of Marriage: Wedding Dresses," we offered a two-part workshop in July and August on preserving historic wedding gowns and costumes. Sarah Griswold, curatorial consultant, has many years of experience working with the preservation of vintage textiles. She offered an educational lecture on the proper archival materials and housing required for professional storage and care of historic costumes on Saturday July 26th in the Wykeham Room of the Gunn Memorial Library. Mrs. Griswold also demonstrated proper techniques for storage of vintage clothing and showed how not to store them, with examples of recently donated items in non-archival boxes and plastic wrapping. At this program, interested individuals were able to purchase and order archival materials, including boxes and tissue paper. The second part of the workshop took place on Saturday August 23rd. Participants picked up their supplies and got assistance in properly storing their garments for preservation.
Trucks, Hydrants and Hoses November 28 to January 11, 2009Our must-see holiday exhibit featured vintage toys, fire engines and memorabilia in an eye-catching, fiery setting. Highlights of this fantastic exhibit included toy fire trucks of all shapes and sizes on loan to us from area collectors. Children of all ages were delighted by this festive holiday exhibit.
Locally Grown History Day at the Gunn: Roundtable Discussion on the History of Marriage
On Saturday, October 18, 2008 -- Locally Grown History Day -- the Gunn Memorial Museum hosted a roundtable discussion of the history of marriage practices with local clergy. Marriage has evolved over the centuries and is still evolving today. Discussions included the difference between Christian marriage and state licensing, the relationship between marriage and procreation, the sacramental nature of marriage and where same-sex unions fit into the equation. Participants included: The Reverend Dr. Catharine Randall, the newly ordained minister of St. John’s Episcopal Church in Washington, The Reverend Dr. Christopher Webber, the author of Re-Thinking Marriage, the complete background to the current debate over a definition of marriage, and Universal Minister and Justice of the Peace, the Reverend Joseph A. Mustich, et al. This discussion was held in conjunction with the exhibition "The Fabric of Marriage: Wedding Dresses."
Northwest CT museums joined together this fall to highlight their treasures, culminating with a multitude of events on Locally Grown History Day. Maps and passports to visit museums throughout the area were available at the Gunn Museum.
The Cogswell Family Papers: In 250 Years of One Family’s Records, The History of a Town Summer 2008
In January of 2006, the Gunn Memorial Library & Museum acquired the "Cogswell Family Papers," a large volume of family papers -- totaling hundreds of documents, correspondence, deeds, account books, as well as newspapers, maps, publications and photos filling 26 cartons of various sizes -- from the Cogswell Family of New Preston, Connecticut. Until recently, this private collection had been stored in the attic of the Cogswell Tavern (now a residence) in New Preston. The collection was donated to the Gunn Memorial Library & Museum by descendents and current owners of the homestead.
Beginning more than 200 years ago, the Cogswell Family, from one generation to another, created and kept records, mementos, and evidence of everyday life from the time of their settlement of New Preston in 1746 through the present day, preserving information about their history, their community and its people. The collection is remarkable for its size, age and condition, and will be invaluable in providing helpful insights about the town’s history.
The Cogswell Family had a hand in practically every important aspect of community life -- commerce, industry, law, education. They were active citizens, business owners, schoolmasters, sheriffs, church deacons, judges, lawyers and tavern keepers. It was at "Squire Cogswell's" that General George Washington recorded a stop at the Tavern for breakfast, in his diary on May 25, 1781.
To reinforce its mission to collect, preserve, interpret and make available records that would otherwise be lost, the museum accepted the challenge and the responsibility to preserve and protect this fragile collection in a way that is consistent with professional archival practice. As we continue to sort and organize these historical papers, the museum will be showcasing representative examples that offer insight into the history of New Preston and our town of Washington over the last 250 years.
History Bites Lecture: The Museum hosted a lecture and slide show by Alison Gilchrist, "Their Hands in Every Thing: The Cogswells of New Preston," as part of the History Bites lecture series, on Thursday April 12th. Audience members were invited to bring their lunch, and refreshments were served. Alison's lecture coincided with the Gunn Museum's exhibit showcasing the newly discovered "Cogswell Family Papers," a treasure-trove of documents from the Cogswell Family of New Preston.
"The Victorian Lady" performance was sponsored by the Gunn Museum on June 14th at the Washington Club Hall in conjunction with the 4th annual Connecticut Open House Day.
While dressing in vintage clothing and accessories, Kandie Carle adds humor, history and intriguing anecdotes about fashion, home life and the etiquette of men and women. Ms. Carle created this one-woman show in 1996. She has assembled a vast collection of authentic Victorian and Edwardian clothing and accessories dating from the mid-nineteenth century to the turn of the twentieth century. With many years of research in social history and fashion behind her, along with humor and grace, Ms Carle shared her passion for history and love of these eras.
Abner Mitchell: Letters of a Civil War Soldier June 2007 - May 2008
Shepaug Valley Middle School eighth-graders, under the guidance of their history teacher Michael Croft, guest-curated this exhibit which explored the Civil War era through the letters of a local Union soldier. Abner Mitchell, a Washington resident, was drafted into the Civil War in August of 1863 with family tragedy mounting. Despite town pleas to send a substitute, he left "Baby Mary" in the hands of relatives and answered the call of duty, entering into Company B of the 6th Regiment of Connecticut Volunteers. Abner met his fate at the battle of Deep Run, Virginia, in 1864.
The Shepaug Middle School students pieced together Abner Mitchell's life through the letters that he sent from the battlefront to his family in Washington. Michael Croft's history classes transcribed 49 Mitchell letters this year, "a discovery that usually gets sent to a college professor," Croft said. Together the class created a book and the museum exhibit. The project was featured on Diane Smith’s Positively Connecticut show on CPTV in April. Diane Smith filmed scenes at the Shepaug Middle School, the Gunn Memorial Museum and around the town of Washington.
Dolls: An Easter Extravaganza, ran through April, and followed on the heels of the popular Holiday and Valentine's display of dolls at the museum. The dolls featured in this display came from the Gunn Museum and the treasured collections of Bobbi Smith, Ellen Kenney, Dee and Wally Domroe, and other area collectors. There were also beautiful Shackman reproduction Valentine and Easter cards and other gifts for sale at the museum.
Doll's Paradise - Holiday 2007
The treasured doll collections of Miss Mary Browne, Mary Logan Bronson, Dorothy Averill and past curator, Ester Peck, etc., were showcased in this holiday season exhibition, A Doll's Paradise. With the creative guidance of Chris Zaima, this exhibit was a delightful vision of dolls from yesteryear in a beautiful, enchanting setting.
1952-2007 Washington Art Association 55 Years and Growing
September 23, 2007 - January 1, 2008
The Washington Art Association celebrated its 55th year with an anniversary retrospective exhibition at the Gunn Memorial Museum . Over its history, the art association has drawn the aesthetically curious to view, learn about, create and exhibit art. Since its founding in 1952 by Margaret Train Samsanoff and a small group of local artists and patrons, the Washington Art Association has attracted full-time residents, weekenders and visitors from both near and far.
This anniversary exhibition traced the history of the art association through photos, documents, words, and memories. Over the years a long list of talented artists have shown their work on the seasoned walls of the art association. We proudly offered a sampling of the level of their mastery, including the work of current and past faculty, and of artists who previously exhibited at the WAA and who achieved acclaim for their art.
Country Chairs: From Children to Garden and Everyday Use
May 1, 2007 - November 3, 2007
Florence de Dampierre, the noted furniture historian, author and interior designer, guest-curated this exhibit. It showcased an eclectic collection of country chairs from the Gunn Museum and many private collections throughout the area. The chairs featured ranged from the most elemental form -- the handcrafted hedge chair -- to the elaborate workmanship of the marriage chair. The variety of country chairs on display in this exhibition was a feast for the eyes, a grouping of all shapes and sizes spanning three centuries.
From the Archives of the Gunn Historical Museum....
Washington Senior Center series of coffee hour readings from the archives of the Gunn Historical Museum. On September 24th, October 1st, 15th, 22nd, 29th, Museum curator Stephen Bartkus read research papers from the museum's archives, shared photos, stories and encouraged reminiscing about Washington's history.
Three Decades of Care for Our Town: The Washington Environmental Council - Fall 2006 through Spring 2007
This local volunteer organization has fostered the care and stewardship of our town’s beautiful and diverse landscape for thirty years. Celebrating this important anniversary this exhibition will examine the history of this organization and its contributions to improving the quality of our environment since the mid-1970s.
Steam Toys: A Collector’s Passion - Holiday 2006
Inspired by a local collector’s love for anything steam, this year’s holiday exhibition at the Gunn Memorial Museum in Washington, Connecticut, is Steam Toys: A Collector’s Passion. Opening November 24, 2006 and running through January 2, 2007, this exhibition will interest admirers, collectors, and hobbyists of all ages.
The widespread use of steam engines in locomotives, steam ships, and factories contributed to the start of the Industrial Revolution. In Victorian times the steam engine was almost the only source of mechanical power. Model steam engines recapture the fascination of steam power from that bygone era. Everyone can learn from the steam models, which demonstrate the basic principles of converting heat and water into mechanical energy.
George Baxter, a machinist for 42 years, has been collecting and building steam models since 1986, owning a vast array of steam engines and accessories from various brands. He has generously loaned the museum many of his steam engines to make this exhibit happen. Joining Mr. Baxter in his generosity is another local collector, James Greenfield, and the Connecticut Antique Machinery Association, Inc., each contributing exemplary models to this exhibition.
Wilesco and Mamod steam engines and accessories are available for purchase as well as tin toys and Victorian holiday ephemera from Toodle Time Toys.
Tractor Mac and His Farm Friends - July to October 2006
The Children’s Gallery of the Gunn Historical Museum presented the world of Tractor Mac and his friends. The exhibition showcased the beautifully painted, original watercolor drawings from the popular "Tractor Mac" series, written and illustrated by Roxbury artist, Billy Steers. Steers, who grew up with horses and sheep, introduced the series in April, 1999.
Open House Farm Tour, Saturday, October 29 from 1:30 to 4:30 p.m.
Meet at the museum and board a local school bus for an historical tour of the Town of Washington, visiting several working farms. At each stop the owner will discuss their farm's operation. Co-sponsored by the Steep Rock Land Trust with the Gunn Historical Museum, this educational program showcases the important agricultural heritage of the Town of Washington.
Great Caesar’s Ghost, What a Catastrophe! The Flood of 1955 in Washington, Connecticut
On August 19, 1955, Connecticut was the hardest hit victim of the worst flood in the history of the eastern United States. President Eisenhower declared the state a major disaster area. Through numerous photographs, newspaper articles and first-hand accounts, relive this disaster and the amazing response of the people of Washington, Connecticut as they rescued one another, recovered and rebuilt their town.
H. Siddons Mowbray: American Muralist and Washington Luminary - Summer/Fall 2006
Enjoy the diversity of this American artist (1858-1928) in more than 30 of his works of art borrowed from family members throughout the New England region. This exhibition is split between the museum and the Gunn Memorial Library where visitors will have an opportunity to enjoy seeing one of Mowbray’s ceiling murals as well as numerous easel paintings, religious scenes and other works of art.
Our Town of Washington, nestled in the hills of northwest Connecticut, has long been a quiet place with a beautiful rural landscape and home to numerous famous people. Many of them -- artists, writers, architects, naturalists, educators, philanthropists -- have contributed to the history and culture of the town, often in subtle but important ways. This Mowbray exhibit is the first in a series that will showcase a notable Washington figure each year. These Luminaries include: Ehrick Kensett Rossiter, Elias Boudinot, Mrs. E. H. Van Ingen, Benjamin Foulois, Herbert Faulkner and William Hamilton Gibson.
Connecticut's First Heritage Lake: Waramaug
The Lake Waramaug Task Force was formed thirty years ago in response to the need to do something about the serious water quality issues of Connecticut’s second largest natural lake. Through a curious combination of dedicated volunteer efforts, experimental science, public education and grassroots and governmental support, success was achieved and this exhibition tells the story of this success.
Tuesday, November 1 at 7:00 p.m.: "Beautiful Lake Waramaug" will be the topic for a discussion in the library's Wykeham Room. In its 30th anniversary year the Lake Waramaug Task Force celebrates its successes with an exhibit at the museum, and Tom McGowan, executive director of the Task Force, discusses the history and work of this important local environmental group over the past three decades. Following Tom's talk, refreshments will be served, with an opportunity for all to see and enjoy the exhibit at the museum.
Toy and Miniature Villages - another popular Holiday show of charming miniature toys and models, borrowed from area collectors and hobbyists.
100 Years of Baseball in Washington - a Gunnery student's research project inspired this look at our town's national pass-time, from 1860-1960.
Under the Big Top - an exciting round-up of circus-related artifacts, toys, models and artwork, gathered from area lenders, made for another fun and very well-attended 2003 holiday show.
Picture Perfect: The Art of John Folinsbee - part of a multi-site project sponsored by the Mattatuck Museum of Waterbury, Connecticut, this showcased the work of an accomplished American painter who first came to Washington, Connecticut as a student at The Gunnery.
A Childs Delight: Toy Trains and the Magic of Make Believe - an enchanting display of toy trains and miniature villages, showcasing collections loaned by local enthusiasts.
Dreams Beneath Design: An Exhibition of Quilts
It Started With Mr. Gunn: The Education Experience in Washington - the life, times and accomplishments of one of our most significant citizens, curated by Sarah Griswold and Paula Krimsky, archivist for the Gunnery School.
Pride of Place - Landscapes by local artists.
From the Bounty of the Land: Washington's Agricultural Heritage from Native American Roots to the Rise of Dairy Farming
Home | What's Up | Index | About Us | Catalog & Links | Kids | Blog | Museum | Contact Us